Ten on Tuesday (vol. 4)

November 24, 2009 at 9:07 PM 4 comments

Molly from Considering the Campbells came up with Chelsea’s Ten on Tuesday questions today. Visit both their blogs to see their answers too! (Like Chelsea, my spacing is also messed up. I can’t get extra spaces to work between paragraphs today. Sorry!
Also, please send John wishes for good health. He was home sick today and spent all day on the couch.

1. When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be a photographer or a dancer. I dabbled in both at various times through my teens and early twenties. In high school, I was captain of the pep squad and later was on the dance team and was an officer on the team as well. I also danced incredibly long hours at a dance studio. In college, I took ballroom dance and spent many evenings at Midnight Rodeo, The Broken Spoke or Gruene Hall dancing the night away.
I got my bachelor’s degree in journalism, and spent countless hours working on perfecting my skills in college and for a few years after. I even worked for two Austin photographers for awhile and had my own photography business. For now, it’s just a hobby, but maybe once we get back to the States I’ll pick it up again. (I need to save a bit to replace most of my equipment.)
2. Name 3 of your irrational fears.
– Bugs. Really, I don’t think that’s so irrational. They’re disgusting and creepy crawly and blech. Whatever, some people might say that’s an irrational fear.
– My subconscious seems to fear that John will stop loving me and/or will leave me. I have dreams about that frequently. Awake Sarah doesn’t have those fears.
– I can’t think of a third one.
3. If you had a $200 gift card to any store, what would you want it to be? (Nothing responsible allowed. Can’t be used for groceries or anything)
A craft store like Hobby Lobby – you can’t go wrong with $200 to spend on quilting, knitting, scrapbooking, etc!
4. What is your most (blog-friendly) embarrassing moment?
Apparently, I have a few moments that I’ve already mentioned – 11 to be exact. My most embarrassing moment to date, however, has to do with sixth grade, forgetting to wear a bra to school and my older brother having to go through my underwear drawer to bring one to school and drop it off in the attendance office for me to pick up. That’s the short version. I was mortified.
5. If you were only allowed to eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would you choose?
I’d choose enchiladas, because I could vary it by having beef, chicken, cheese or veggie enchiladas. Added with all the sauce choices, I’d have variety for a month! Besides, enchiladas are delicious.
6. What was your favorite toy growing up?
My parents got something that came in a big box, which I turned into a spaceship. That was the coolest spaceship ever. Way better than the stuff NASA is launching these days. 🙂
7. Do you have a “go to” outfit? What is it?
No. In the winter, I wear my black pants almost ever day. I love wearing my black patent leather high heels with them. I change it up with the shirts.
8. Who was the best teacher you ever had?
Mr. Hankins–He was my teacher two years in a row. The first year was for US History and the second year was for Psychology/Sociology. He often taught using the Socratic method, and I loved his classes. I was terrified to contribute as I was really quiet in high school, but I loved his classes. I still go back and visit him.
Mis Wis–I had Mis Wis for two years as well. She was my Algebra II teacher and then I was her assistant senior year, which meant I helped plan graduation. She’s such a sweet lady. She retired last year, and I still keep in touch with her.
9. If you could buy any car right now (something at least SORT OF within the realm of reality…so, you know, a Rolls Royce may not qualify), what would it be?
We would either get an F-150 for John or an Acura TL or a Volvo XC90 for me (a C70 would be nice, but it’s not exactly family friendly).
10. How do you reckon that Chelsea comes up with 10 of these questions every week? It was hard! What’s your theory on how she’s so creative? Are you going to help her?
I will try to think up a list of my own and send her my suggestions. 🙂 I like having themes for all the questions. Maybe it would make it easier to come up with questions if each week had a theme???

Entry filed under: Ten on Tuesday, Uncategorized. Tags: .

Getting It All Done Seven Quick Takes (vol. 6)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chelsea Hurst  |  November 24, 2009 at 11:02 PM

    You are more than welcome to make a theme. Each person can use their own creative right!

    Is it THAT necessary for a 6th grader to have a bra? I mean I know we wore them in 6th grade but it si really the end of the world if you don’t have one? I guess to a 6th grader is probably feels like the end of the world!!

    Reply
    • 2. osarah  |  November 30, 2009 at 3:05 PM

      I’m still trying to come up with questions. I’m up to 3. This IS hard!

      And yes, it was that necessary for a 6th grader to have a bra. Especially if that day, all the girls had to change together in a room prior to our UIL competition and we had to wear white blouses. Tragic.

      Reply
  • 3. Cat  |  November 24, 2009 at 11:42 PM

    It was sooo necessary for a 6th grader to have a bra. You had to change in PE and if you didn’t have one, omg, it was embarrassing!! =)
    Glad bras are standard & not embarrassing anymore!

    Reply
    • 4. osarah  |  November 30, 2009 at 3:06 PM

      Indeed! And that day was the day of our Strings UIL competition, which meant everyone changing together in the girls’ bathroom and having to wear white blouses. Eep! The embarrassing things that happen to a 12 year old…

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


If you want to receive our blog posts in your email inbox, just click below and follow the instructions!

Join 8 other subscribers

Archives

Read the Printed Word!